Update your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch

Problems updating ipod to ios 5

If you tap Cancel, learn what to do next. That will create a new and full backup of all your apps and other data. Follow the prompts and allow iTunes to restore the iPhone or iPod touch. Finally, I received a message telling me that iTunes detected my device and that I had to restore it before it could be used. You stand a good chance of losing stored data as your phone recovers.

You first want to back

Slide the slider and then wait as the device shuts off. This problem has mostly fixed itself. If iTunes doesn't open automatically, open it manually. That should force iTunes to again see the device and let you to restore your data from the recent backup.

On a personal

You first want to back up your device. On a personal level, about percent of my iPhone-using friends experienced severe problems, the most common of which was a bricked phone.

Here's a quick rundown of the most common problems users are reporting, and a fix, if one exists. When I checked my iPod Touch all the data had been wiped out, and iTunes refused to recognize the device. It's not doing that in all cases with this new update. Whether you use iTunes or update wirelessly, you'll have the same amount of free space on your device after you update. If asked, enter your passcode.

Here's a quick rundown of the

To update now, tap Install. Finally, if all else fails, you may need to schedule a visit with the Genius folks at your local Apple store.

Apple is aware of the issue. Don't release the Home button. After that's done, you can then restore your data from the backup that you hopefully made beforehand.

The only drawback is that this type of restore typically leaves your icons disorganized and floating outside their original folders. Some updates might need to be installed manually. You'll have to put your phone into forced recovery mode. Update your device wirelessly If a message says that an update is available, tap Install Now. Those with bricked phones were forced to do a factory reset, and lost all of their contacts, saved notes, photos and videos.